Best Local SEO Citations for Law Firms in 2017 [Downloadable List]

This post was last revised with new, up-to-date information on April 4, 2017.

local-seo-citations-lawyers If you’re serious about ranking in Google’s 3 pack or local finder you can’t ignore the importance of citations.

While the importance of citations has decreased over the years, citations are still an important ranking factor and can also provide highly relevant links to your website. If you’re working for a law firm you probably realize that links and mentions from authoritative legal websites and prominent local business directories are very important.

When you’re building citations you want to focus primarily on QUALITY over QUANTITY. There are a million small legal directories out there but if they don’t provide a ranking benefit or the possibility of referral traffic you can generally stay away from them.

What Are Citations?

Citations are simply your business name, address, phone number and website listed on a business directory like Yelp.com. In the SEO industry we call this NAP or NAP+W (Name, Address, Phone Number + Website).

How Do Citations Help With Local SEO?

Having accurate and non-duplicative citations can help tell Google that a business is real and it actually exists. Having these from highly recognized sources act as a vote of confidence in their eyes. There is also a potential added benefit of link equity. Anywhere your NAP is listed, you should also have a link back to your website.

Are These The Best Citation Sources for Attorneys?

This list is a curated list we work off of to help guide our citation building efforts for our clients. Since locally relevant directories exist in every metropolitan area like Chamber of Commerce’s, this list should not be considered the end all be all.

You should combine this list with a list you curate in your specific geographic area. Find out what business directories get the attention in your local area and focus on those as well.

This list uses the domain authority metric as a guide of how you could prioritize your efforts.

My Rules for Using The Citation List:

  1. Vet these sources yourself. Things change and it’s important you’re always on your A Game.
  2. Don’t limit yourself to these sources. This list does not include the citation sources that might be powerful in your area.
  3. Change your mindset. Don’t just think about the citation value. Think about total search share and the benefits of being visible in more than one place. Notice how Google has been rewarding websites like Avvo, Yelp, and Findlaw recently.
  4. If you build a citation, build it right. Don’t create more work for someone in the future. Fill out your profiles completely and make them look good. Don’t ignore adding pictures.
  5. Don’t build duplicates. Seriously. Check the website FIRST every SINGLE TIME. Search by your business name, phone number, or even the search string in Google.  Site:Citationsource.com Mywebsite.com To use this successfully replace citationsource.com with the website of the citation. Also you can replace mywebsite.com with your phone number or business name. This will show if Google has an indexed listing for you on their website.

The Top Legal Citation Sources for 2017

Below is the raw list of the top citations we have vetted and added to our list for 2017. If you would like the full list with the submit URL’s simply fill out the form below and we will email it right to you.

# Website Name Root Domain Domain Authority Free or Paid?
1 2 Find Location www.2FindLocation.com 65 Free
2 Acxiom www.acxiom.com 75 Free
3 Alphalegal www.alphalegal.com 35 Free
4 Angies List www.Angieslist.com 89 Free
5 APLawyers www.aplawyers.com 26 Paid
6 AttorneyPages attorneypages.com 48 Paid
7 Attorneys Lawyer www.attorneyslawyer.org 34 Free
8 Avvo www.avvo.com 84 Free
9 B2B Yellow Pages www.b2byellowpages.com 50 Free
10 BailBond www.bailbond.com 38 Free
11 Bankruptcy Attorney Directory www.bankruptcyattorneydir.com 22 Paid
12 Best Lawyers www.bestlawyers.com 75 Free
13 Bing Places www.bingplaces.com 69 Paid
14 Brain Injury Lawyer Directory www.braininjurylawyerdir.com 18 Paid
15 Brown Book www.brownbook.net 62 Free
16 Car Accident Attorney Directory www.caraccidentattorneydir.com 20 Paid
17 Car Accident Lawyer Directory www.caraccidentlawyerdir.com 16 Paid
18 Chamber Of Commerce www.chamberofcommerce.com 67 Paid
19 City Squares www.citysquares.com 56 Free
20 Citysearch www.citysearch.com 85 Free
21 CourthouseSquare www.courthousesquare.com 27 Free
22 Criminal Attorney Directory www.criminalattorneydir.com 17 Paid
23 Cylex www.cylex-usa.com 52 Free
24 Dilawctory www.dilawctory.com 33 Free
25 Divorce Attorney Directory www.divorceattorneydir.com 20 Paid
26 Divorce Magazine www.divorcemag.com 57 Free
27 DMV www.local.dmv.org 74 Paid
28 DNB www.dnb.com 86 Free
29 Dog Bite Lawyer www.dogbitelawyerdir.com 18 Paid
30 Domestic Violence Attorney Directory www.domesticviolenceattorneydir.com 20 Paid
31 DUI Attorney Directory www.duiattorneydir.com 17 Paid
32 ELocal www.elocal.com 58 Free
33 Express Update www.expressupdate.com 48 Free
34 EzLocal www.ezlocal.com 53 Free
35 Facebook www.facebook.com 100 Paid
36 Factual www.factual.com 67 Paid
37 Family Attornet Directory www.familyattorneydir.com 21 Paid
38 FInd a Bankruptcy Lawyer www.findabankruptcylawyer.com 26 Free
39 Find a Criminal Defense Attorney www.findacriminaldefenseattorney.com 36 Free
40 Find a Family Law Attorney www.findafamilyattorney.com 26 Free
41 Find a Lawyer by City www.findlawyersbycity.com 16 Free
42 Find a Lawyer Free www.findalawyerfree.com 25 Free
43 Findlaw www.findlaw.com 92 Free
44 ForLocations www.forlocations.com 35 Free
45 FourSquare www.foursquare.com 94 Free
46 GayLawNet www.gaylawnet.com 38 Free
47 GetAttorney www.getattorney.net 17 Free
48 GetLawyersOnilne www.getlawyersonline.com 23 Paid
49 HG.org www.hg.org 85 Free
50 HotFrog www.hotfrog.com 67 Free
51 I Lawyer Source www.ilawyersource.com 34 Paid
52 Index Lawyer www.indexlawyer.com 21 Reciprocal
53 Injury Attorney Directory www.injuryattorneydir.com 19 Paid
54 Insider Pages www.insiderpages.com 71 Free
55 Justia www.justia.com 82 Free
56 Kudzu www.kudzu.com 77 Free
57 Law Files www.lawfiles.net 29 Free
58 Law Firm Directory www.lawfirmdirectory.org 41 Paid
59 Law Firm Offices www.lawfirmoffices.com 23 Paid
60 Law Firms www.lawfirms.com 43 Free
61 Law Guru www.lawguru.com 72 Free
62 Law Info www.lawinfo.com 70 Paid
63 Law QA www.lawqa.com 40 Free
64 Law Referral Connect www.lawreferralconnect.com 41 Free
65 Law Research www.lawresearch.com 50 Paid
66 LawLink www.lawlink.com 44 Free
67 Lawyer Legion www.lawyerlegion.com 29 Free
68 Lawyer Profiles www.lawyerprofiles.com 29 Paid
69 Lawyer Solicitor www.lawyersolicitor.co.uk 24 Reciprocal
70 Lawyer.com www.lawyer.com 54 Free
71 LawyerCentral www.lawyercentral.com 41 Free
72 Lawyers Attorney Directory www.lawyersattorneysdirectory.com 25 Free
73 Lawyers DB www.lawyersdb.com 32 Free
74 Lawyers Law, Cornell www.lawyers.law.cornell.ed 94 Free
75 Lawyers US Legal www.lawyers.uslegal.com 58 Free
76 Lawyers-and-Solicitors www.lawyers-and-solicitors.com 35 Paid
77 Lawyers.com www.lawyers.com 86 Paid
78 LawyerUCLA www.lawyerucla.com 30 Paid
79 Lead Counsel www.leadcounsel.org 52 Free
80 Legal Docs www.legaldocs.com 53 Free
81 Legal Free Financing www.legalfeefinancing.org 13 Paid
82 Legal Help Mate www.legalhelpmate.com 42 Paid
83 Legal Menu www.legalmenu.com 27 Free
84 Legal Web Finder www.legalwebfinder.com 28 Free
85 List Lawyers www.list-lawyers.com 16 Free
86 Local www.local.com 69 Free
87 Magic Yellow www.magicyellow.com 53 Free
88 Manta www.manta.com 87 Free
89 Map Quest www.mapquest.com 94 Free
90 Martindale www.martindale.com 31 Paid
91 Merchant Circle www.merchantcircle.com 85 Paid
92 Mojo Pages www.mojopages.com 64 Free
93 MoreLaw www.morelaw.com 49 Free
94 My Huckleberry www.myhuckleberry.com 46 Paid
95 My Web Yellow www.mywebyellow.com 26 Free
96 MyLeagalPractice www.mylegalpractice.com 29 Reciprocal
97 Neustar www.neustarlocaleze.bi 56 Paid
98 Nolo www.nolo.com 87 Free
99 Path Leagal www.pathlegal.com 36 Free
100 Riabiz www.riabiz.com 44 Free
101 Sales Spider www.salespider.com 52 Free
102 Show Me Local www.showmelocal.com 59 Free
103 State Lawyers www.statelawyers.com 44 Paid
104 Superlawyers www.attorneys.superlawyers.com 85 Free
105 SuperPages www.superpages.com 83 Free
106 Target Law www.targetlaw.com 36 Free
107 Three Best Rated www.threebestrated.com 33 Free
108 Thumbtack www.thumbtack.com 84 Paid
109 Town-Court www.town-court.com 37 Paid
110 Truck Accident Lawyer Directory www.truckaccidentlawyerdir.com 18 Paid
111 Tupalo www.tupalo.com 58 Free
112 Tuugo www.tuugo.us 36 Free
113 US Lawyers DB www.uslawyersdb.com 45 Paid
114 USA Attorney Network www.usattorneynetwork.com 25 Paid
115 USA Attorneys www.usaattorneys.org 21 Free
116 WalletHub www.wallethub.com 71 Free
117 Yasabe www.Yasabe.com 55 Paid
118 Yellow Pages www.yellowpages.com 89 Free
119 YellowBook www.YellowBook.com 85 Free
120 Yellowbot www.yellowbot.com 70 Free
121 Yelp www.yelp.com 94 Free
122 YouTube www.Youtube.com 100 Paid
123 Zip Local www.ziplocal.com 52 Paid

Download The Whole Top Citation List With The Submit URL Link

To make your life easier we created a spreadsheet with the direct submit a listing URL for each citation source. You can get that emailed to you by filling out the form below:

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

After You Have Downloaded The Citation List

The citation list comes in a Google Doc. Once you get the link to the file you will want to go to FILE > MAKE A COPY (so that you have your own copy).

Once you have your copy made you will see how easy I made it for you. I included a list with the domain name, the submit URL (Where available), the domain authority, whether they’re free or paid and notes on the costs per each listing where applicable.

I hate to beat a dead horse, but… Be super sure there are no duplicates before you create a new listing. 

Once you’re sure you’re not creating a duplicate all you have to do is click the Submit URL link and fill out the listing as required 🙂

If you’re looking to create the top citations easier check out MozLocal to get the data aggregators and some of the top sources.

Sign Up for our Newsletter

Get our most recent posts and updates sent right you your inbox!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Casey Meraz

Casey is the founder and president of Ethical SEO Consulting and Juris Digital based in Denver, CO. Casey's specialties are in organic and local SEO. He is a regular contributor to the Moz Blog and the author of How To Perform The Ultimate Local SEO Audit. If you have an SEO question or need advice please feel free to reach out by email: cmeraz@jurisdigital.com. Follow Casey on Twitter @CaseyMeraz.